Image

Dry Shampoo Face Off: Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak versus TRESemme’ FreshStart

10 Oct

I have been desperately trying to wash my hair less in the attempt to make my hair not as dry and preserve my color and time! In conjunction with this effort, I have tried several dry shampoos including Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak and TRESemme’ FreshStart. Keep in mind I have curly hair that tends to be dry but gets oily at the roots, especially the day after washing. So, depending on your hair type, these products may work differently for you! That being said, here is the low down on how both these products worked for me.

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo: ($5.99 at Ulta) I used this product the day after washing and styling my hair. The smell is strong and lemon-limey, not my favorite by any means, but not bad enough to discourage use. The spray came out easily and turned into a white powder upon contact with the hair. After just a few seconds, most of the powder faded and was undetectable. As recommended on the bottle, I lightly brushed out (focusing on my roots as to not create frizz in my curls) the remaining powder. I gave a few extra sprits on the underside of my bangs around  my forehead where I tend to get extra greasy. It brushed out easily from both my roots and bangs. I was very surprised to see the grease gone as well as my extra volume in my roots however my hair did seem a little dry. The finish this product provides is very matte

TRESemme’ FreshStart: ($5.49 at Ulta) Again, I used this product on second day hair. Similar to the Not Your Mother’s product, this dry shampoo also had a not so pleasant lemon-lime scent. The mist projected easily and the white powder seemed very similar to the previously described product. However, upon dissolving, the remaining product became almost slimy. I found this product to be much harder to brush out of both my roots and bangs. After it was brushed out, my roots were practically lifeless although it did seem to remove the oil. The finish was much shiner and my hair seemed more moisturized with this product.

Who wins? After initially trying TRESemme’ FreshStart, I did not buy it again. I did not like the way it weighed down my hair. In addition, at the end of the day, my hair was very oily. I frequently buy and use the Not Your Mother’s dry shampoo. I love the volume that it gives my hair and when it gets rid of the oil, the oil stays gone all day long. I even sometimes use Clean Freak when pulling my hair into a ponytail just to inject a little more lift into my roots and bangs. I will say that I despise its smell, but I have found that it doesn’t last very long.  All in all, I use Clean Freak at least once a week and its a great product at a fantastic price.

Have you tried either of these products? Have you tried a drugstore dry shampoo that you can’t live without? Let me know!!

2 Responses to “Dry Shampoo Face Off: Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak versus TRESemme’ FreshStart”

  1. fortheloveofgloss October 10, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I have tried some higher end dry shampoos, but Clean Freak is by far the best one I’ve tried! It works wonder to get rid of oil and boost volume, and is so quick and easy to use!

  2. dannigirl2013 October 10, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    totally agreed! ❤

Leave a Reply

