Image

How-To: Revamping Dollar Store picture frames

12 Oct

I love dollar store picture frames! The ones I usually purchase are from $1.00-$6.00 at the Dollar General or the Dollar Tree. I always get the ones that are actual wood because they are more versatile. Here are three easy, simple ways I revamped some dollar store frames.

The center picture with the horse is actually one of three of these pictures that I framed. The print is from an old horse book that I purchased at a flea market for $1.00. I simply photocopied three of my favorite illustrations from the book on some old looking resume’ paper. I made the boarder out of scrap book paper I had bought years ago at Michael’s. The frame itself came from the Dollar General and was $3.00. When I first got it, it was dark, shiny, and I just didn’t like it. I wanted it to look more old and worn in. Therefore, I removed the glass from frame, grabbed one of my husband’s heavy duty chains, and gave it a couple gentle whacks to achieve those random little nicks that occur over time. After that, I hunted down a wood chisel and scraped a few of the edges. Finally, I used my handy-dandy sandpaper and gave the entire frame a good scrub especially focusing on the corners where natural wear would occur. I was really please with how they turned out; they look much more expensive than an $3.00 Dollar Store frame and really complement the antique equestrian prints.

All I did to this frame was spray paint it with a metallic gold paint. The heart is one I printed off the web and also gave it a quick, light spray of the paint. The quote, from the Hunger Games of course, is something I just made up on Microsoft Word and printed off. This literally took me maybe 10 minutes and looks great in our bedroom.

I didn’t do a thing to this frame itself, but instead jazzed up the picture with some leaves (also purchased at the Dollar General). I typed up and printed off this picture on Word and it really complements my fall mantel decor!

Hope you enjoy! If you also like revamping dollar store finds, comment and let me know!

One Response to “How-To: Revamping Dollar Store picture frames”

  1. fiddlechick400 October 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Great ideas! I’m definitely gonna have to try these!

Leave a Reply

