Image

How-To: Magazine Christmas Tree

30 Oct

I saw this on Martha Stewart crafts and was super excited to try it! After I finished my first tree, I showed my grandmother my “new” prize. Turns out, she had made these and other magazine creations growing up. Guess there really isn’t anything new under the sun! Even if Martha wasn’t the first to come up with this craft, they are super easy to make and the finished product is really pretty!

#1) All you will need is a somewhat thick magazine. I like using real estate magazines because they are free (score!) and you can pick them up pretty much anywhere.

#2) Tear off the cover and fold the right hand corner down towards the lower left corner to form a triangle.

#3) Next, fold that triangle down to the left corner again to make a sort of necktie shape.

#4) Open up that triangle.

#5) Take the point of the necktie and tuck it up to form yet another triangle.

#6) Repeat this with every page in your magazine and, when you are done, you will have a fluffy Christmas tree!

I spray painted mine gold but of course you don’t have to paint it at all! I think this will be super cute on a mantel or as part of a Christmas centerpiece!

2 Responses to “How-To: Magazine Christmas Tree”

  1. Dawnna Hale October 30, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    So cool!

Leave a Reply

