Image

Lipstick Love

26 Nov

I must admit that I was not always a big lipstick person. Recently, however, I was browsing pictures of celebrities on the red carpet and thinking about how polished and put together the leading ladies appeared. Later that night, my husband and I were watching The Voice and, again, I thought about how stunning the girls looked. Besides designer duds and fabulous styling, all these girls had one thing in common: lipstick. As a result, I have been branching out and lipstick has now become a staple of my everyday wardrobe. It really does add instant glam to even the most average outfit. Because of my recent lipstick conversion, I have found three drugstore lipsticks that I absolutely love.

My three favorites are Mary Kay Signature Lipstick in Red Salsa, Wet N Wild Silk Finish in Sunset Peach, and Rimmel London Lasting Finish by Kate Moss #12.

The Mary Kay lipstick is rich and creamy and glides on like a dream. The thing I like most is that it does not feel clumpy or thick once applied. In addition, the color itself is very bold with a slightly shiny finish. It is fairly long lasting and this color can be worn boldly straight out of the tube or be blotted for a more subdued wash of color. It is such a flattering shade for a variety of skin tones.

The ultimate go-to, everyday lipstick. I adore the satiny finish of this Wet N Wild lipstick and, at $.99, you really can’t go wrong! It feels super light on your lips  – like you aren’t wearing lipstick at all. The color is sheer-ish but buildable. I wear this peach-y shade almost everyday because it is just slightly darker than my natural lipcolor and therefore very natural looking.

Anytime date night rolls around or I am wanting to kick up my outfit another notch, I always reach for this Rimmel London lipstick. Super pigmented and bold, this color really does last all day (or night!) long. It is very matte so I sometimes wear it under a gloss but it looks amazing with or without a gloss topcoat. This particular shade is a coral-y red that is still a nod to the more classic reds while taking it to an entirely different level! LOVE!

From left to right: Rimmel London Lasting Finish by Kate Moss #12, Wet N Wild in Sunset Peach, Mary Kay Signature Lipstick in Salsa Red.

4 Responses to “Lipstick Love”

  1. fiddlechick400 November 26, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    This is definitely something I need to start doing!

    • dannigirl2013 November 26, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      I have def become a lipstick believer! That is for sure! ❤

  2. katylove1990 November 26, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Great post! I love the Rimmel one =)

    • dannigirl2013 November 26, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      Me tooooo!! And all these are such a great product for the price – always a bonus!

Leave a Reply

