Image

3 Tips to Banish Bad Hair Days

13 Dec

chickenbadhair

Over the years, I have had my share of bad hair days and, lets face it, just straight up bad hair. These three tips, however, have really changed how I fix my hair, cut my styling time almost in half, and reduced my bad hair days (and the likelihood of me challenging “socially accepted hair norms”).

I have colored, curly/wavy hair that is very thick and, I would say, medium length (falls right at my shoulders). Nevertheless, these tips could be used on just about any hair type.

#1: If you have side swept bangs, let me tell you, this tip will guarantee you perfect bangs everyday and it is as easy as drying your bangs the opposite way you want them to fall (i.e. if you want your bangs to go right, dry them to the left). This will make them lay really pretty and soft across your forehead. Since my hair is naturally curly, I dry them them to the left (since I wear them to the right) with a round brush then run a straightener over them once. Perfect bangs every time!

#2: Use a heat protector every time you blow dry, curl, or use a straightener! I like TRESemme Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Spray. Its only about $4.00 at WalMart. Not only does this heat protector protect your hair from damage (duh) but it also helps hold your style. Therefore, you hair holds curl better and stays straight longer depending on how you are styling it. I spray it all over my hair before blow drying and then lightly on my bangs before straightening. It works great and really reduces damage.

tresemme-thermal-creations-heat-tamer-spray

#3: I used to apply mousse to my hair with it dripping wet. I always noticed that I had to use a LOT of product and it seemed like it really was not getting in my hair but instead sitting on the surface. Then I had an epiphany after reading Cosmo: dry your hair until it is about 40% dry then add product. Wow! It really makes a difference! Not only can I use less product, but since I blow dry my hair with a diffuser, rough drying first really cuts down on styling time. If your hair is thinner, towel drying  it thoroughly would be sufficient  However, if your hair is super thick like mine, you can rough dry with a blow dryer.

I hope these tips help! If you try one of them out, let me know what you think!

3 Responses to “3 Tips to Banish Bad Hair Days”

  1. oldfriendscanada January 2, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    I have wild curly hair…its norm is messy! Every day is a good bad hair day for me. 😉 Lol.

    • dannigirl2013 January 2, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Haha! I think everyone with curly hair feels this way at some point or another! At least we learn to make those bad hair days good!

      • oldfriendscanada January 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

        We learn to rock the messy! 😉

Leave a Reply

