How To: Hanging Burlap Picture Frames

5 Jun

Ike and I were at TJ-Maxx a few weekends ago and I found the cutest picture frame for $9.00. It was a distressed white color and had was hanging by a piece of burlap. Of course I wanted it. But as I carried around the store, I kept looking at it and looking at it and finally thought “I could make this!” Consequently, I did not buy it and instead opted to do it myself.

I already had burlap (left over from our wedding decor!) and white spray paint. All I needed was a few of my favorite Dollar Store picture frames. After buying these (for $2.00 a piece which was less than the one frame cost at TJ-Maxx!), I gathered together the rest of my supplies and began working.

20130605-095747.jpg

20130605-095808.jpg
You will need:
Burlap or Burlap ribbon
Scissors
Wood picture frames
Spray paint
Hot glue gun

20130605-095930.jpg
Begin by spray painting the frames. Of course, if you like the color of the frame you bought, skip this step.

20130605-100037.jpg
This was after two coats. I didn’t want it to be super solid or perfect because I wanted it to look worn and used.

20130605-100308.jpg
Next, cut the burlap into a strip and then knot it in the middle.

20130605-100414.jpg
Take the strips and use your hot glue gun to attach them to the back of the frame. Finally, use the scissors to trip off any excess burlap and your done!

20130605-100832.jpg

20130605-100849.jpg
I think it turned out really cute! I was pleased especially because it was such an easy project! Hanging it by the burlap just gives the frames a little more character. You could always use ribbon instead of burlap which would be charming too! Hope you like!

xoxo
Danni

2 Responses to “How To: Hanging Burlap Picture Frames”

  1. christinadanielle June 5, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    I love this!

Leave a Reply

