Our Baking Adventure: Honey Wheat Bread

18 Jul

When my brother and I were kids, my mom was that mom that not only maintained a spotless house, cooked amazing food every single day, and – if I do say so myself – raised two amazing children! One thing that she frequently did when we were younger was grind her own wheat and make homemade bread. Until you have had warm, straight from the oven bread made with wheat that was ground just minutes before you cannot imagine how excited I was to hear that she was going to resume making this delicious bread. Today, I went over to do what I could to help in the grinding/baking process and the results (aka me getting to take home two fresh loaves) were amazing!

Here is what the wheat looks like before it is ground down.

20130718-185959.jpg

The recipe that we used today was found on Edie’s wonderful blog called LifeingGrace. Her recipe and fool-proof, instructions can be found here.

 
20130718-190010.jpg

This is the wheat after a good dose of grinding. I love that this recipe includes honey! Everything is better with a little honey.

20130718-190015.jpg

The dough turned out perfectly! We were so pleased!

20130718-190021.jpg

That is me trying to look like I’m contributing to the process.

20130718-190034.jpg

That is mom actually contributing to the process.

20130718-190052.jpg

Two of our loaves ready to pop in the oven to rise.

20130718-190102.jpg

The dough rose perfectly!

20130718-190110.jpg

The bread could not have baked and browned better! It tastes oh-so-amazing too! Especially with a spoonfull of homemade strawberry jelly!

20130718-190121.jpg

It is just a fact, homemade bread just taste better and is so much healthier than store-bought, sandwich bread. Needless to say, it was a wonderful afternoon spent working a little and eating and talking a lot!

xoxo
Danni

4 Responses to “Our Baking Adventure: Honey Wheat Bread”

  1. Stephanie July 18, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    The bread was great but the day spent with my daughter was priceless. Thank you for a perfect day!

  2. picture of yourkie puppies December 23, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

    • dannigirl2013 December 23, 2013 at 8:29 am #

      Hello! Thanks for reading! No I have never really been overrun with spam. WordPress has been really good about blocking all of that stuff for me. Do you have to approve people’s comments before they are posted? If not, maybe that would help. Otherwise I would probably contact WordPress admin. They might be able to fix the problem for you!

Leave a Reply

