The Silly Things Horses Do

18 Jul

Any horse owner or horse enthusiast would agree: horses do some pretty silly things. On the most harmless item they will get hurt; in the most impossibly tight spaces, they will get stuck; at the most innocent object, they will spook. My 14.2 h.h. Quarter Horse cross pony managed to wedge herself inside our tiny chicken coop on one occasion – and shut the door behind her. How do they do it!?! I don’t know if they are trying to punish there loving owners or just clumsily don’t realize how ubsurd their actions are, but either way it is undeniable that they do some very stupid things.

My Appaloosa gelding Dusty was recently diagnosed with White Line Disease and, as a result, we are having to keep him up in a stall anytime the ground out in the pasture is wet or its raining. Unfortunately, it has rained a lot here lately. Making the situation even more unfortunate, Dusty HATES being kept up in a stall. While in his stall, he will pretty much destroy anything he possibly can. Hay feeders, water buckets, even the stall door, doesn’t stand a chance.

This morning, when I went out to feed him and muck his stall, I noticed something strange as I approached the barn. A window was missing.
20130718-090015.jpg

Yes. Missing. Gone. I marveled and, I must admit, fumed as I got closer and realized that Dusty had literally ripped the window right out of the wall.
20130718-090023.jpg
But then my horse-lover tendencies kicked in and I began to worry that Dusty might have cut himself on the window glass or on some other window part in his very effective window removal project. When I opened the stall door I could not believe what I saw…

CIMG5607 CIMG5608 CIMG5611I am assuming that he first broke the bars off the window then stuck his head through, got stuck, and ripped the window off the wall. Unfortunately, he just couldn’t figure out how to actually get out of the window – or maybe he is trying to start a new horse fashion trend (pay attention horse owners! Your horse is going to be begging you for this accessory!). Luckily, he did not have a single scratch from the ordeal. I don’t know how he managed that. He also looked quite guilty and embarrased as I lifted the window off his head however I’m resisting the temptation to feel sorry for the rotten guy.

CIMG5614He was very thankful to have the window gone – from both his neck and its proper place on the wall. Oh my goodness. Please just pray that his feet heal soon or we may not have a barn left to stall him in!

For some reason, I still love him. *sigh* 😀
xoxo
Danni

2 Responses to “The Silly Things Horses Do”

  1. Stephanie July 18, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    He must have a thing for windows….remember the horse trailer window that he put his foot through when we were on our way to the horse show? Yep, he definitely DOES NOT like windows!!

  2. dannigirl2013 July 18, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Maybe it is his phobia. I don’t know! He def does have a problem with windows that is for sure!

Leave a Reply

