5 Easy Tips to Make Your Nail Polish Last Longer

10 Nov

polishlonger

Taking the time out of your busy day to paint your nails is not always easy. I love having freshly polished nails, however I sometimes have to force myself to sit down, take the time, and just paint them. Because it takes such an effort for me to actually give myself a manicure, when I do I really, REALLY want it to last. There is nothing more aggravating than spending thirty minutes on your nails just to have them dull and chipped the next day. So not cool.

The bottom line is: we all want our manicures to last longer. Preferably until we just get tired of the color. Here are some simple tips that will help you get closer to achieving that goal.

1) Start with a good basecoat. Yes, it is an extra step so it adds a little bit of time and work to your manicure, but it is so worth it in the end. It often will double or even triple the life of your manicure. Before applying the basecoat, it is essential that your nails are super clean and dry. This assures that your basecoat and polish will adhere properly; if there is any oil, dirt, or resudue polish will not adhere to your nail. The basecoat that I recommend is Orly Bonder Rubberized Basecoat. Read more about it here.

2) Steer clear of hot water and hand sanitizer. I’m totally not telling you to skip showers in order to preserve your nail polish. Everyone would rather you have chipped polish than stink! Instead when you are doing chores or something else that involve your hands being submerged in hot water for a long period of time (i.e. washing dishes, hot tubs, long baths, etc) try and keep your hands above water as much as possible. A quick fix for the dish washing problem is to simply wear gloves (or have your husband do them! Ha!).

3) Update your topcoat. I’m assuming here that you are using a topcoat in the first place – which you should be. A quality top coat is essential to preventing chips and keeping your manicure shiny. However, though you may be using a topcoat, you might not be updating it. What I mean is, after about two days of wear, your topcoat will typically begin to wear off and your nails will be more susceptible to chips and will lose shine. To prevent this, just slap another quick top coat over your nails every few days and, if you do have any chips, another thin coat of polish will quickly take care of that. You will be amazed at how great this keeps your manicure looking.

4) Speaking of topcoat, don’t forget to apply it under the tips of your nails. The very tips of my nail is where my worst chipping always occurs. But, after I began extending the application of my topcoat over the tip and under my nail, my polish has all but stopped chipping. My favorite topcoat is Revlon Quick Dry Topcoat and you can find out more about this product, including where to buy it, here.

5) Moisturize. Moisturize. Moisturize. Wearing rubber gloves when doing housework can really prolong your manicure, however applying a thin layer of petroleum jelly to your nails and cuticles will not only moisturize but also provide protection for your polish. Applying a quick absorbing moisturizer frequently and liberally to your hands will keep your cuticles and nails healthy and, in turn, make for an altogether better manicure.

If you follow these tips, you might really be surprised at how well your manicure will wear. I have had my polish last for more than 10 days! Though many would disagree, I really do not think it matters much what actual brand of polish you use. I have oftentimes had just as much success with a $5 bottle as a $25 bottle. In the long run, it is more about proper application and maintenance, not labels.

I hope you enjoy!

xoxo
Danni

Leave a Reply

